hello, goodbye

Treatments, Rehabilitation, and Recovery
jacko

hello, goodbye

Post by jacko »

Hi ! This is my first message to the board, though I've been reading all your stuff for ages. I just never thought I had any thing worth saying.
Just over a week ago, I decided enough was enough, and said goodbye to the right arm that I've been lugging around for 5 years. Some of you may think I've taken the easy way out, rather than waiting for some further developments in recovery procedures, and you may be right. I think it's a brave and sensible person who continues to hope. But although the removal of the arm hasn't changed the weird pain/numbness/tingling/etc yet, it has made my life so much easier. One simple example: now when I use an angle grinder or a welder, I can keep both eyes on the job, and not worry that I have ground off my thumb! In case you feel the same way about removal as I did, I'll update this later. Bye!
jennyb
Injury Description, Date, extent, surgical intervention etc: January 1980 Yamaha RD200 vs 16 wheeler truck, result, 1 totally paralysed right arm. I was 21, now 54. I had no surgery, I don't regret this. Decided to totally ignore limitations (easily done aged 21) adapted very quickly to one handed life, got married, had 3 kids, worked- the effect of the injury on my life (once the pain stopped being constant) was minimal and now, aged 54, I very rarely even think of it, unless I bash it or it gets cold, then I wish I'd had it amputated :) Except for a steering knob on my car, I have no adaptations to help with life, mainly because I honestly don't think of myself as disabled and the only thing I can't do is peel potatoes, which is definitely a good thing.

Re: hello, goodbye

Post by jennyb »